Skip to main content
Click to rate this artist!
[Total votes: 1 Average: 4]

During the Corona virus lockdown, whilst people around me were sick, dying and losing their jobs, I made a decision to write music, not about death, but about life. To remind us all of life, and its joys, and their value.

This composition is built from free variations for clarinet and orchestra based on the Hebrew chorus “Hava Nagila” (Let’s Rejoice).

The variations evolve in different styles, asymmetrical meters and in different modes – from klezmer, folk-modal, classic-counterpoint style to graceful bossa-nova.

The way in which these traditional materials are handled is a contemporary approach that contributes to the unity of the composition.

Bracha Bdil

Bracha Bdil (1988), composer, conductor and pianist, is a member of the Israel Composers’ League and her works are published by the Israel Music Institute. Her repertoire includes orchestral music, chamber, vocal and electronic music, as well as music for dance and theater.

Bracha was awarded the 2019-2020 ACUM Award, Israel, and was chosen as one of the composers in representing Israel at the Asian Composers League Festival, Taiwan (2018). She won first prizes in the Competition named after Michal Kleofas Oginski, Belarus. The “Electo Silva”, Santiago de Cuba (2021). The Wolf Durmashkin Composition Award, Germany (2018) and the Yardena Alotin Competition, Israel (2016).

Close Menu

Accademia Musica Arte Teatro S.r.l.

Impresa Sociale
Partita Iva.: 01497330520
Codice Fiscale: 92069370523